Faculty of Pharmacy


The Faculty of Pharmacy is one of the best in Poland. It has the A category granted by the Ministry of Science. The fields of study at the faculty are: pharmacy, cosmetology, medical analytics, forensics and pharmaceutical engineering. The conducted research focuses on the search for new and innovative forms of drugs, drug toxicity assessment as well as  issues in the area of biotechnology and pharmacology. Within the faculty, the Center of Innovative Pharmaceutical Technology, unique in Poland was established - a modern research and development center offering the implementation of technological solutions in industrial pharmacy in a public-private partnership. The faculty also includes the Garden of Medicinal Plants and Animal House, unique in Poznań.

In 1919, soon after Poznan University had been founded, the Pharmacy Department was established. At first, this academic school was affiliated as the Division at the Faculty of Philosophy and from 1925 it was attached to the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences.

The founder and the head of the Division was Konstanty Hrynakowski – professor of chemistry, well known for his achievements in thermal analysis of drugs. He was a proponent of modern, extensive education of pharmacists based on chemistry. The study curriculum included, among other things, advanced mathematics, the technology of medicaments, pharmacodynamics.

Between the two World Wars, the following Chairs were set up: the Chair of Applied Pharmacy, the Chair of Pharmacognosy, the Chair of Botany and Medicinal Plants and the Chair of Pharmaceutical Chemistry. In the period of 1930 - 1939 as many as 886 students graduated from the Division of Pharmacy in Poznan.

During the Second World War pharmacy study was pursued at underground universities in Warsaw, Cracow, Kielce and Czestochowa. 80% of pharmaceutical property was destroyed resulting from the Second World War repercussion.

Despite the range of destruction, already in May 1945, classes were resumed. In 1947, the former Division of Pharmacy was transformed into an independent Faculty. Three years later, the Faculty of Pharmacy and the Faculty of Medicine, including Division of Dentistry, were detached from the main University and established as an independent school named Medical Academy. In 1979 the Division of Laboratory Medicine and in 1995 the Section of Postgraduate Education were set up and attached to the Faculty of Pharmacy. In 2005 a new Division of Cosmetology opened.

Today, the Faculty of Pharmacy of Poznan University of Medical Sciences is one of the most respected and largest institutions of pharmacy research and learning in Poland. It comprises 17 Chairs and Departments as well as 5 separate laboratories. The Faculty of Pharmacy employs over 20 full professors, 20 associated professors and almost 80 PhD scientists engaged in the research in all fields of modern pharmacy. The Faculty researches cooperate with the number of partners from the scientific and research centers and universities in Europe, Africa and North America. This includes joint research projects, student exchange and visits of research fellows and visiting professors.

The Faculty's leading activity is teaching of pharmacy, laboratory medicine and cosmetology on both undergraduate and postgraduate levels. Since 1950 over 7,400 pharmacists, 990 medical analysts and 720 cosmetologists completed their studies at the Faculty of Pharmacy. At the same time more than 500 Master's and PhD degrees have been conferred. At present, about 800 students study pharmacy, about 190 students study laboratory medicine and nearly 150 persons study cosmetology.

Since 1970, ceremonies to renew a Master’s diploma after 50 years have been organised to strengthen the bond between alumni and the mother Faculty.

The Faculty of Pharmacy at Poznan University of Medical Sciences currently offers 5.5-year programme in pharmacy, 5-year programme in laboratory medicine and 3+2 years programme in cosmetology. The curriculum of interdisciplinary studies embraces basic, general and professional courses culminating with a Master's degree. For about 10 years now, we have also been offering a 6-year Pharm.D. programme for foreign students, realising it in English language.

Pharmaceutical Faculty students' education is based on the European Credit Transfer System. Therefore, our students extensively take part in international exchange programmes such as: Erasmus and Erasmus+.

Please find a list of topics for potential cooperation below:

  1. Organisation of Work within the Dean’s Office (tasks)
  2. Student Administrative Services such as:
    a) admissions process
    b) student ID cards
    c) student database
    d) transcripts
    e) proofs of enrolment
    f) fees and student finance services
  3. Timetabling and room bookings (lecture rooms, teaching rooms, seminar rooms)
  4. Master’s thesis defence
  5. The six-month traineeship in a pharmacy
  6. Graduation
  7. Careers and Employability Services
    a) faculty promotion and appointment
    b) procedure to obtain a PhD degree
    c) qualification as an assistant professor and a professor.

Faculty Authorities

Prof. Anna Jelińska, MA, PhD
Zdjęcie - prof. dr hab. Anna Jelińska
Violetta Krajka-Kuźniak, MA, PhD
Zdjęcie - dr hab. Violetta Krajka-Kuźniak
Justyna Gornowicz-Porowska, MA, PhD
Zdjęcie - dr hab. Justyna Gornowicz-Porowska


Dean's Office
70 Bukowska St.
60-812 Poznań
tel +48 61 854-74-94
e-mail: bodwf@ump.edu.pl